Residency Requirements

Residency Classifications

Following are the student residency classifications for tuition and fees at Piedmont Technical College:

  • In-County (7 county service area). For purposes of tuition, In-County rates apply to residents of the following Georgia counties that border South Carolina counties in our region: Elbert County: Abbeville County rate; Lincoln and Columbia Counties: McCormick County rate; and Richmond County: Edgefield County rate.
  • Out-of-County (Outside 7 county service area)
  • Out-of-State
  • Foreign

South Carolina Residency

Regulations regarding the establishment of legal residency in South Carolina for tuition and fee purposes at South Carolina institutions of higher education are governed by the South Carolina Code of Laws, Sections 59-112 to 59-112-100. Residency classification is an essential part of fee determination, admission regulations, and other relevant policies of Piedmont Technical College. The initial determination of residency is made at the time an admission application is submitted. That determination and any determination made at a later time prevails for each subsequent semester until a request for certification of South Carolina residency is found to be valid.

For more information about residency requirements, visit or contact:

Jalissa Adger, Residency Officer
Piedmont Technical College
PO Box 1467
Greenwood, SC 29648
Phone: (864) 941-8364
Fax: (864) 941-8566